Cloth Diapering: Homemade Cloth Wipes Solution

When Ivalee was a baby, we battled a lot of diaper rash issues that required me to use a gentle spray solution and and a warm cloth wipe (wet only with warm water) at diaper changes. Naomi doesn’t appear to have the same skin sensitivity. So I did a little research about a homemade wipe solution so I could save some money on wipes. I found a few recipes and tried a few with too much soap or too much other stuff I didn’t have on hand.

I sort of improvised one combining major elements from a few different recipes. I’ve been using it for a couple of weeks and I really like it! And it’s made of stuff I had at home anyway!

20140209-100926.jpg

I use 1TBSP coconut oil, 1 TBSP baby wash, and 2 c. boiling water
20140209-100908.jpg

Stir it all up. (This is a double recipe.)
20140209-100938.jpg
I use a wipe warmer to keep the wipes handy on the changing table. I saturate the wipes and close it up – easy peasy. I use a salad dressing dispenser to keep another batch handy for middle of the week laundry day when I need more wipes.

So … on another note: Naomi put herself to sleep last night in the cosleeper. And she’s still asleep 11.5 hours later. What in the world with this baby’s ability to sleep and sleep and sleep?! I’m not complaining at all, but it’s just crazy. She’s a champ!!

Leave a Reply

