36 Weeks

As of Monday, October 28, I am officially one month away from my due date. In celebration, my uterus has been Braxton-Hicksing for joy all day. Starting on Sunday night, I began to experience a higher frequency in those pesky things. They weren’t nearly frustrating enough to keep me awake, but since there were other things keeping me awake, I did notice they were continuing through the night. And they were pretty steady throughout the day on Monday. Here’s hoping they’re being mildly productive … but definitely productive. (Some progression before real labor starts will be highly favorable to me.)

I’m pretty sure baby has “dropped”. (I said that to Kyle in front of Ivalee today and she looked at me like, “You dropped the baby?!“) I feel a difference in the way I’m carrying, in the location of those crazy foot-movements, and in general it’s just easier to breathe today than it has been lately. I’ve been carrying lower this time than last, but last week, I got kicked in the ribs for the first time ever. Unpleasant. It’s a little bit of a relief to have a little more room for my lungs. Even though gaining that room has caused a noticeable decrease in bladder room. Oh well. Not too much longer now.

This weekend, my sister-in-law Amy and my friends Allison and Hannah threw a shower for me and Baby Polk.

20131028-221121.jpg
It was a small gathering of family and close friends and I really enjoyed it!! Plus they were so thoughtful and prepared some of my favorite foods – including, but not limited to, Pumpkin Cheesecake. So yummy!!!

We have begun to experience somewhat of a behavioral regression with Ivalee very recently. Perhaps because the big day is getting closer, and I’m becoming more and more unable to do some of the things I’ve always done … she has started to demonstrate her disapproval of these changes. It’s making life interesting at moments. She sleep-walked for the first time ever on Sunday night. Over the weekend, she seemed to be waking up in a very confused state a lot. Monday was a MUCH better evening for her, behavior-wise, but most of the weekend, she spent defying me and just being downright unpleasant. Mostly towards me. She seemed fine with Kyle. :sigh: My hormones did not handle that well and I spent more than my fair share of time in tears over it.

This, too, shall pass.

Anyway. My next appointment is on Wednesday. It’s the 36-week appointment, when I will meet with the OB for a final time for him to determine whether I am a good candidate for delivering at the birth center. I will also have an appointment with one of the midwives at the birth center — hopefully Lesley this time.

It’s getting closer and closer!! So excited to get to know this little person when (s)he makes his/her debut.

Leave a Reply

