The Diaper Stash

Image

I finally got down to business and cleaned/prepped all the diapers and got them sized-down to the smallest settings and stuffed and folded and … here’s what we have.

Newborn Stash (courtesy of Cassie and Mendy, who loaned me their stash of small-sized diapers):

  • 20 GMD prefolds
  • 3 Snappis
  • 10 Kissaluvs fitteds
  • 6 small and x-small Thirsties AIOs
  • 7 small and x-small Thirsties covers
  • 4 Imse Vimse covers
  • 2 Weehuggers covers
  • 1 handmade cotton fitted with a handmade cover

And My Stash:

  • 15 Bum Genius OS (3.0s and 4.0s)
  • 8 FuzziBunz OS
  • 5 Rumparooz OS (2 snaps and 3 velcro)
  • 1 Kawaii OS
  • 2 Smartipants OS
  • 1 Thirsties OS cover
  • 5 prefolds
  • one Medium-sized FuzziBunz
  • a lot of microfiber (and one hemp) inserts
  • 8 fleece liners
  • 1 PlanetWise diaper pail liner
  • and 1 Bummis wetbag

 

5 responses to “The Diaper Stash

  1. Lookin good! I’d say you’re all set! 😉

  2. Whoa! Then you can advise me. We’ve been using disposables, but I want to try cloth, just haven’t been sure which brand to go with.

    • Erynn, I strongly recommend the One-Size diapers because they make economical sense. They’re kind of expensive, BUT they are useful for longer. I liked Bum Genius from the beginning – clearly! – and took advantage of some buy 5 get one free sales to build my stash. Fuzzibunz were also a favorite.

      A lot of stores have a cloth diaper trial you can take advantage of so you can try different types to see which you prefer. JilliansDrawers.com has one and I think DiaperJunction.com does as well.

      The whole cloth diaper world can be overwhelming. Feel free to ask any questions you need to.

  3. I just ordered my cloth diaper detergent. I was going to try making my own. But I could NOT for the life of me find a definitive answer on what was safe and what wasn’t and what really cleaned and what didn’t (I know part of the cleaning part depends on your washer and hard/soft water). So I’ll just use my homemade detergent with regular clothes.

    And I don’t know if Erynn will read this but I started with one size pockets and liked them a lot. Now my preference is prefolds and covers (Econobum specifically). Honestly, those non-natural fibers are just so hard for me to keep clean! My cotton prefolds come clean much better and are so versatile for even when I’m not cloth diapering – very durable!

  4. Thanks Rita and Sue. I think Fuzzibunz were what we registered for, but since we didn’t end up getting any, I figured we could start anywhere, and everyone seems to have a different opinion.
    All my nieces and nephews and all the kids I’ve ever nannied for have been strictly disposable. So it’s the one thing going into this that I knew NOTHING about. Well, that and breast feeding, but that’s a whole different conversation. 😉
    Fortunately, I have lots of crunchy friends to help me out.

Leave a Reply

