26 Weeks

Week and day: 26 weeks

Food issues: Heartburn again. Apparently we’re in an on-again off-again relationship. This week, we’re on. 🙂 

Energy level: Let this be an indicator to you: Kyle and I both fell sound asleep before 9:30 last night. We’ve been exhausted lately. Kyle, from working 50 hour work weeks and busting it to help me get stuff in order at home too. Me, from growing a baby, hosting a birthday party, and cleaning the heck out of my house.

Baby’s Movement: Everybody’s been feeling the baby move these days — including Ivalee who, after feeling it for the first time, is more apt to wait for the kicking since. She loves to feel the baby and gets a big smile on her face. “Mommy! I felt that!!” 

The movements continue to become more pronounced. And there are times that (s)he backs up with … maybe his/her bum right up to my ribcage. It gets hard to breathe when that happens. It seems to happen a couple of times a day. 

Dreams: I had the most terrifying, unsettling dream on Sunday night. Kyle’s brother was hunting me. That’s really all I want to say about that. It is still creepy for me.

Mood: Getting my home in order and purging a lot of ‘junk’ from our living quarters is so good for my brain. It feels so good to be in my home these days. (I keep thinking that I need to post a “new furniture” post. Maybe I’ll snap some pictures one day soon … but it’s just so rainy outside almost always … which doesn’t make for very pretty pictures!) 

Size of baby: 1 2/3 pounds and measures around 14 inches.

Next appointment: August 29.

Other: This past weekend was Ivalee’s fourth birthday party. The only thing she wanted for her party was a Slumber Party. So we hosted a PJ Party for her, in lieu of braving a full night of preschoolers who have never spent the night away from home before. I have some pictures on my dad’s camera, so I’ll post those soon. We had a lot of fun. And her cousins Wesley and Nathan stayed the night … so it was a bit of a “Slumber Party”.

I’ve been having some Braxton Hicks contractions recently. I blame the busy-ness of the week/weekend, because they seem to have settled down in the last two days. 

I think it’s safe to say some degree of nesting has begun. A lot of is has been out of necessity, but I’ve been extra motivated to do the extra work of purging and deep-cleaning in addition to the straightening and organizing that needed to happen. And now I’m fighting the urge to pick out paint colors and get another project started. Our walls do need freshening up … but I just … don’t wanna start another project.

(And yet I DOOOOO!!)
(but no I don’t. painting is the worst.) (really. the worst.)
(But a nice coat of fresh paint would really help clean my walls up quite a bit.)
(but painting is the worst.)

^ That’s a glimpse of what’s going on in my head every time I think about it.

Image

 

I ordered a custom diaper bag for the new baby last week. My sister has an acquaintance who is adopting from China and is sewing bags and things as a way to raise funds. She has an etsy shop that she’s using to sell, in case anyone is interested in ordering/supporting her fundraising: http://www.etsy.com/shop/cadovius. If you see something you like but want to customize it, she is willing to do so, provided she is able. (That’s what she did for me.) My sister has one of her bags and they are very beautiful and very well-made. Can’t wait to get mine in the mail!!

Leave a Reply

