A List of Things I’m Thankful For

Today has been “one of those” days where I have dropped the ball in major ways, more than once. My 3-going-on-15-year-old daughter has decided that listening is for the birds. And her continuous acts of defiance, coupled with my pregnant woman hormones are a recipe for disaster. It’s been quite a day.

And sometimes the only way to rebound from a morning like the one we had is to MAKE yourself be grateful for the good things. And I do have so many things to be thankful for.

So this is an exercise of discipline. A chance for me to remember to be grateful.

I’m Grateful:

  • that not every day is like today. And His mercies are new every morning. So I get the opportunity to grow more like Him as I offer mercy to my child tomorrow morning. I choose to allow the slate to be cleaned and have a full, fresh start.
  • for the times when she is so sweet. I hold onto the hope that those days are not far off in our future again.
  • for the times when I’m dragging or have reached the end of my rope and my husband comes to my rescue. He doesn’t undermine me, but supports me. His strength is not perfect, but it is reliable and loving.
  • for my house. It is home and I have so much comfort here.
  • that even though her attitude sometimes indicates otherwise, praise the Lord, I still have a few years to go before she is a sullen and sulky teen/preteen.
  • that when I blow it, I have the grace of God to forgive and guide me
    forward. How do people live without that?
  • for Milky Way frozen ice cream bars.
  • Advertisements

    One response to “A List of Things I’m Thankful For

    1. Saw this on InstaGram not long ago:

      “A vital part of maturing is deciding to be content through obedience, and to cultivate a spirit of joy by choice”

      Love that quote…need to remind myself of that A LOT. šŸ™‚

      Also, I’ve never had Milky Way frozen ice cream bars. Perhaps I should give them a whirl.

    Leave a Reply

    