18, whoops! 19 Weeks

Despite my word at the beginning of this pregnancy that I wouldn’t probably be very regular with my posts here, I have maintained somewhat of a pattern of weekly-ish updates. Until last week. Which was a big week. So … back to it. (Sorry to keep my ‘fan’ waiting. [Hi, Jess!] I’ll do my best to make this update worth your wait.)

Week and day: 18 weeks, 6 days

Belly Button in or out: In

Wedding rings on or off: Still wearing two rings.

Food cravings: I like food. All the food. (It happened, Jess!! There’s hope!!)

Food aversions: None.

Nausea: 0

Energy level: High. I don’t wanna score it a perfect 10, but oh how I love the second trimester.

Mood: Needlessly optimistic. Life is going a little cray-cray right now, like some Master Planner upstairs is trying to remind me that he’s got this under control and I just need to relax. So I’m choosing to relax, and I’m so blessed to be able to watch him work things out that I’d never be able to do on my own. No sense worrying, I suppose. “He determines the number of the stars; he gives to all of them their names. Great is our Lord, and abundant in power; his understanding is beyond measure.” (Ps. 147:5-6)

Size of baby: approx. 9 oz. last Tuesday. About the size of a large heirloom tomato. (Mmm. Tomatoes!)

Next appointment: July 23.

Other: So … we had the ultrasound last Tuesday. And baby is healthy and measuring right where (s)he should. But for now, baby is still a “(s)he”. Little booger was just as stationary as could be and so determined not to show The Goods. Legs crossed and sitting in full breech position. Seriously, it was like (s)he made a conscious decision to withhold information and was adamantly protesting all our numerous attempts to get a peek.

At this point, unless my midwives have a reason order another ultrasound as I progress, we do not plan to seek out a second one on our own.

So I’m excited about delivery day even more now. What a great secret to keep!! We’re so glad to know that everything is looking good. And (s)he is moving around in there quite a bit these days. We are entering The Fun Part – I can’t wait for Kyle to feel it! (Advance apologies to anyone who is with us when I randomly grab Kyle’s hand and put it on my abdomen. It may be awkward. But I don’t care.)

Kyle and I have decided on a girls’ name that we both really like. However, he’s being stubborn* and pretending there’s no way it can be a boy, so we have made no progress in the boy-name department. But we have nothing but time … until November. I’m not sure if we’re sharing the name publicly yet. But it’s a good one. 🙂

*To the Peanut Gallery who jokes that this child is a girl based simply on the notion that (s)he was being stubborn during the ultrasound, please note that stubbornness is not a purely female trait. Thankyouverymuch.

And I think that’s about all we have for this time. Maybe I’ll update with a photo in the morning. The Belly is getting out-there!

2 responses to “18, whoops! 19 Weeks

  1. Wow! Multiple shout outs! I’m honored, though I’m quite sure I’m not the only one interested in your updates! I loved this post, and your sense of optimism and faith, and the surprise! I can’t deal with my own surprise, so I’ll live it out through your baby. Thanks for posting! 😉

  2. Um, I’m a fan too and read your blog. I expect shout outs next time. 😉

    So fun you’re not finding out the gender now!! I love that we haven’t found out and now that it’s nearing I think it’s more and more exciting!! We came up with a girl name fairly quickly too (probably because of agonizing over it with girl #2…one reason why she was named just an hour before we left the hospital). But boy names were difficult. Ultimately, Septtro did come up with the one we settled on.

    Can’t wait to find out what you’re having!!

Leave a Reply

