2011: Not a Total Failure After All

In 2011, my resolutions were that I wanted to:

  • Eat better / Cook more. There’s a scientific way to measure this, I suppose, but I have not done such a study. So in a very UN-scientific manner, Kyle and I agree that this one was met. I wanted to cut out the majority of processed foods, and I have done that. (Thank you to Trader Joe’s for coming to our area and helping me to meet this goal in a cost-efficient manner.)
  • Read more books. Well, in a sense, I have certainly been reading more lately. But not in the way this resolution was intended. Ivalee looooves reading books, and she loves to read the same books over and over again. So I’ve read a lot of books intended for the 2-6 year range.

    But … I’m going to say that I failed on this one. I read zero complete books this year. (Is that even possible?! I guess so. :hangs head in shame:) I have started three and they are all still on my bedside table, filed under “I’ll get to it one day.”

    BUT, I have discovered audiobooks. And I LISTENED to Tina Fey’s “Bossypants”. I’m still not quite done with it yet, but it’s hilarious and I’ve enjoyed it a lot so far. And I can listen to audiobooks and knit at the same time. Which brings us to …

  • Knit more. Check, and CHECK! I have added a link to my ravelry page in the bar to the left. Check it out if you’re curious to see the exhaustive list. I didn’t make a project listing for every single project I completed this year, but I did for most of them. And, for professional crafters, I’m sure my list for the year is comparable to their list for, like, a month. But I’m quite pleased with my progress, given that it’s “just a hobby”.

photo (4)

I made ten or eleven hats from this pattern this year. I’ve sold several and given a few away as gifts. They’re beautiful and work up pretty quickly.

photo (5)

I made five ribbed beanies …

annie's slouch hat

… four knitted slouch hats …

A trio of monsters

monster lovin'

… three knitted monsters …

Riley's Owl Hat

… and this Owl Beanie for Riley. And several other things. And that is all much, much more than I thought I’d be able to do. So … WIN!

  • Make time for more Me Time. Even when I wrote this, I knew I sounded / was being very selfish. My justification for the matter was that (Boys Beware: I’m about to mention something related to boobs.) I nursed Ivalee for 16 months and she weaned herself on January 1. This wasn’t something I planned. It just happened. And when it did, it was a little bit like, “Whoa!! I don’t have a baby-baby any more! FREEEEEDOOOOMMMMM!!!” (Insert note here about how that was the best thing for her as a young one and I would do it again / WILL do it again if we are blessed to have more children in the future. Continuing on … )

    This year, Kyle allowed me several occasions to carve out some Me Time and I am so grateful to have had those moments. We have alternating “Nights Off” on Thursday evenings. For me, these turn into Coffee Nights with the Girls. Nights in the bed with a knitting project and a movie. Just a night off from having to do the dishes, and going to bed early. This has turned out to be very beneficial for my mental health. 🙂

    And Ivalee has really enjoyed spending some overnight time with her grandparents this year on a few occasions. One weekend in particular, her Dee Dee (Kyle’s mom) came to visit and when she was leaving, Ivalee was having none of it. So Dee Dee took her home with her for the night. Kyle had a band thing going on that night, so I packed up my iPhone/ear buds and went to Starbucks with a free coffee coupon a friend had given me. I sat and knitted for hours. Glorious hours of nothingness. (Amanda, you couldn’t have known how MUCH I would enjoy that free coffee coupon when you casually said, “Hey, I’ve got this thing. You want it?” that night at church.)

    Another major element of this is carving out some US time for me and Kyle.  We’ve had a couple of memorable date nights this year and even spent two nights in Columbia back in June at a conference. We got to spend two nights in a cushy hotel, enjoy a surprisingly delicious dinner at a hole-in-the-wall Kyle had eaten at once before, two great breakfasts at the hotel, and just … get away.  We’ve spent a few weekends in Greenville with our buddies.

Ok, so … I feel a little encouraged based on this evaluation. 2011 was a bit of a downer in a lot of ways. But it’s had some high-notes. And 2012 is looking up. I’m feeling hopeful and I like a fresh-start. So here’s hoping …

2 responses to “2011: Not a Total Failure After All

  1. 1. Good retrospective. I decided today that audiobooks are the magic key to get myself to sit down and do my physical therapy every day. Let me know if you have any more recommendations!

    2. Hooray for those rare, magical evenings to ourselves! Glad to have been of assistance. 🙂

    3. Your knitting skills ASTOUND me. I must have you outfit me for the colder winters in my future. I will promote you tirelessly. “Why, this? Yes, it IS a Rita Polk creation! I’m so lucky to have gotten in on the ground floor. If you email her right away, maybe you can have a Polk hat by next winter!”

    • I will gladly help to “outfit” you for the colder winters in your near-ish future. And will accept whatever promotion you can offer me! 🙂

      You probably know this, but if you sign-up for an account at audible.com (affiliated with amazon; source for audiobooks) you can get one free credit for a download. It’s how I got Bossypants earlier this year. And it’s how I got The Help (Kyle needed an account too!) this week.

Leave a Reply

