Recipes

We must now interrupt our irregularly-scheduled “30 by 30” posts with a few new (to me) MUST-HAVE recipes.

We’ve had to buckle down on the food consumption and eating-out funds for the Polk family for the month of October. So in an attempt to keep Kyle interested in our dinners and enjoying the leftovers, I’ve tried some new recipes lately that have been WINNERS!! and I had to share them. You’re welcome.

First off, I found these all on Pinterest. Are you following me on Pinterest yet? Am I following you? We should all be pinning like whoa, because Pinterest is awesome. So, find me. Follow me, and I’ll follow you back. Let’s do this!

from Very Best Baking

Penne Pasta with Sun-dried Tomato Cream Sauce.

This recipe is not healthy. It is comfort food and it is delicious … even better with some changes. So I’m editing this recipe and here are my recommendations.

Ingredients

  • 8 oz. dry penne pasta
  • 8 sun-dried tomatoes, chopped (about 1/3 cup)
  • 1 TBSP butter
  • 2 TBSP flour
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 c. milk (add up to 1/2 c. more, as needed to acquire proper texture)
  • 1 cup shredded Italian-style four-cheese blend 

Directions

PREPARE pasta according to package directions, adding sun-dried tomatoes to boiling pasta water for last two minutes of cooking time; drain.
 
MEANWHILE, MELT butter in a pan. Add flour, basil, garlic powder, and pepper and combine well and heat thoroughly. Add milk, and heat completely stirring occasionally. When mixture begins to thicken, add cheese. Cook over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until cheese is melted. Remove from heat.
 
ADD pasta and sun-dried tomatoes to cheese sauce; stir until combined.

When I followed the original instructions, I ended up with a gooey, melted, milky cheesy blob. I would’ve thrown it out but — I HAD BOUGHT SPECIAL CHEESE!! I mean, not really all that special, but I never buy shredded cheese! EVER! I made an exception and I was not ABOUT to throw it away, so Kyle helped me rescue it.

All said and done, it tasted good, but with the above improvements, it’ll be awesome. Go, therefore, and make happy, comfort food.

from A Farm Girl's Dabbles

Lasagna Soup.

This recipe is perfect as is. I didn’t have mozzarella cheese to put on top, but I didn’t miss it. And I think I cut the onions at least in half.

Still. Delicious. Go getcha some.

from The Martha

Slow-Cooker Chili Chicken Tacos.

This was our dinner tonight. And this chicken was goooood. I’m not usually a chicken-taco-at-home kind of a girl, mostly because I’ve never done them right. Thank you, Martha, for your blessed contribution to my life. I will never go back to exclusively ground-meat tacos at home.

The only change I made to the original recipe was that I used boneless chicken breasts (white meat) instead of thighs. Because of that (and because of my slow-cooker’s tendency to overcook quickly when not filled-to-the-brim) I added probably 1.5 cups of water to the mix. What came out of the cooker was perfectly-cooked, tender, well-seasoned, but not overly-spicy chicken taco meat. (Ivalee ate it with absolutely no problems.) We served it with tomatoes, lettuce, cheese and sour cream. (And Kyle’s old faithful bottle of Cholula.)

You had any big kitchen WINS lately? I want your recipes. Add them to the comments … or better yet — PIN them on Pinterest! 🙂

3 responses to “Recipes

  1. Hey, so how do you feel about Pinterest?

  2. Nate and I both give you eprops for this post.

Leave a Reply

