Laundry Day

I mixed up my second batch of homemade laundry powder today. Super easy! SUPER cheap! Gets our clothes clean! And lasts a long time! One month ago, we spent around $11 on washing soda, baking soda, soap, and borax to mix up our first batch. I spent $2 on more soap and have enough to last two months now. (I made double the amount we made last time.)

1 c. borax
1 c. baking soda
1 c. washing soda
1 bar Ivory soap or Castille soap, finely grated

Shake all the ingredients together. Store in an air-tight container. We use a 1/8 c. scoop per load. You could use less, but my laundry loads are typically pretty full and I like for them to smell fresh.

So, on a similar note, have I ever mentioned here that I have the ugliest laundry room ever? It’s true. When we bought this house, the room where our laundry “closet” is (the converted garage) was just a catch-all. We used it for band practices, an art studio, and a dog room over the last six years. Well now it’s our family room and the ugliness of the laundry room isn’t as easy to ignore anymore.

Don’t laugh.

5 responses to “Laundry Day

  1. Rita, do you use your homemade detergent for your diapers? We use a very similar homemade detergent, but we use Castille Soap instead of the Ivory. It rinses well from our clothes and diapers and smells wonderful; I am interested to know how the Ivory soap rinses over time… Any feedback?

  2. I’ve been interested in doing this – heard about it before. I assume it’s safe for cloth diapers? Do you use less when you’re washing your cloth diapers or the same as other loads? And how do you finely grate the soap – cheese grater?? 🙂

    P.S. Have you ever tried washing your hair with baking soda? I do it every now and then and it’s SO much more manageable when I do. 🙂

    • And yes. I use the fine grating side of my box-grater. I’ve heard a food processor works well too, I just haven’t gone to the trouble of using it yet.

  3. No, I don’t use this on my diapers. I think it has too much soap in it to be used on diapers. But I’m not sure. I haven’t done enough reading about it.

  4. Woohoo! Love it:) And, as for the laundry room…it just has LOTS of character, ha!

Leave a Reply

