Recipe: Sweet Potato Apple Cake

Today is my mom’s birthday!! Happy birthday, Ma!!

My mom bakes birthday cakes for everyone in the office and brings them to staff meeting to share. Yesterday was staff meeting day, so I made one for her. Stipulation: It’s January and she’s just “resolved” to eat better. She’s cutting way back on sugar and implementing more veggies and whole foods into her diet. I thought I could find a way to support that goal — and still have a tasty cake for her birthday. I succeeded.

The start and the major elements of this recipe came from the Whole Foods website. (If you haven’t checked out their iPhone app, you really should! The shopping list feature is the best I’ve seen on a recipe app!) But I did make a few changes. I didn’t have a scale to weigh the potato, so I used a whole, large potato. When the batter seemed overly dry, I added another half an egg to the mixture. That turned out to be a good call. The batter was still a little dry going in, but the potato and apple cooked down during the bake time and the finished product turned out very moist and delicious.

Sweet Potato Apple Cake

Ingredients

Natural cooking spray
1 cup whole wheat flour (the recipe calls for pastry flour; I used plain whole wheat flour because it’s what I had on hand and the recipe turned out beautifully)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg (I subbed cloves)
1/2 cup brown sugar  (or if you’re going sugar-free, 1 TBSP Stevia)
1 egg
1 large apple, peeled, cored and grated
1 (3/4-pound) sweet potato, peeled and grated
1.5 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup chopped walnuts, optional

Method

Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly oil an (8-inch) baking dish with cooking spray; set aside.

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, and spices; set aside. In a second, larger bowl, whisk together sugar and egg until well combined. Stir in apple, sweet potato, vanilla and walnuts and then add apple mixture to flour mixture and stir to combine.

Transfer batter to prepared dish and bake until cake pulls away from the edges and is deep golden brown, 40 to 50 minutes. Set aside to let cool and then cut into squares and serve.

____

I have to admit, I was more than just a little nervous about trying a new recipe for the first time with the intention of sharing with people. So I couldn’t resist. When it came out of the oven, I cut a small piece out of the corner to sample. It was soooo good right out of the oven, I decided to heat it up in the ovens at work before serving to people the next day. (20 minutes at 200* did the trick.) I give this recipe 4 Stars. Simple. Easy enough to prepare (because I put the apple and potato in the food processor and didn’t try to grate it all by hand). Delicious. And healthy.

Leave a Reply

