Farewell, Old Friend

So I had this friend, I named her Cybill. She was with me every day for one year, three or four months, and a handful of days. Besides the frustrating moments when I would leave her behind at home or on my desk, she was always with me.

She was my iPhone and she was a very handy tool. A phone, a small computer, a Bible (or any other book) that fits in your pocket without the pages crinkling up, games that made doctor’s office visits more bearable, videos that made roadtrips pass with a quieter baby, music that made cleaning up the kitchen more fun, a camera to help catch every silly new thing Iva did, and lots more.

And I’m a little embarrassed by how much I’d come to depend on such a silly thing as a “Smart Phone”. And while I do admit that a few days without it has been nice, it will eventually have to be replaced.But we’re weighing the options now. (Buy a cheap phone to use until we’re available to re-sign the contract and get discounted phones in February [a contract which, due to its amended data charges, is NOT something we’d be thrilled to sign; WHATEVER AT&T with your dumb by-the-minute data usage charging]; plop down $300 for the 8-gig 3Gs (what I had, but with half the memory that I paid $200 for last summer); or add another $100 to that and get the iPhone 4. Errrrgh.)

In summary:

iphone

and also diaper bag bottle/sippy cup pockets are not a safe place for phones. Let this be a lesson to you all. You’re welcome.

2 responses to “Farewell, Old Friend

  1. Oooooohhhhh… dislike.

    RIP, Cybill.

Leave a Reply

