Cloth Diaper Update

The official stash update. I now own:

  • 13 Bum Genius 3.0 diapers
  • 1 Flips diaper (with one staydry liner)
  • 1 Softbums diaper (with three staydry liners and one doubler)
  • 1 Fuzzibunz OS diaper (with one insert and one doubler)
  • and 1 Fuzzibunz Perfect Size diaper (Medium, with one insert and one doubler)

We still love the Bum Geniuses. The velcro is definitely showing some wear (after two months of heavy use), despite the fact that I rarely put them in the dryer. This is par for the course, I’m sure. But they’re still so easy and dad, grandparents, nursery (at church), and day care have all gotten on board with these diapers! The Velcro (hook and loop) makes it just as easy to apply as a disposable.

The FuzziBunz OS is our second favorite. It’s more trim than the BG’s and the color we got (Blueberry) is so bright!! Love those brights!! (ahem, BumGenius, ahem) The snaps are a little more difficult to apply than the Velcro, naturally. But once they’re on, they’re on. She hasn’t figured out how to pull them off yet! I also like the 3rd snap on these. It makes it easier to apply the diapers without getting them too tight.

The Softbums comes in next in line. I actually won this one in an online giveaway. They’re kind of expensive, so I wouldn’t have been able to give it a shot otherwise! πŸ™‚ It’s a One Size, All in Two diaper with snap-in inserts. It’s very trim, and I love the color (chocolate), but … I’m a pocket diaper fan. I haven’t had any problems with leaking with the Softbums. In fact, I love how customizable the fit of this diaper is. It fits perfectly without being too snug. I just prefer changing pocket diapers to changing liners. I also really like the velcro on these diapers. It’s so soft. Interested to see how it wears over time.

The Fuzzibunz Perfect Size diaper is my next favorite. (I got a Medium in Butter color, taking advantage of a half-off sale on babyhalfoff.com a few weeks ago.) It’s a pocket diaper, but I prefer the OS Fuzzibunz over this one. (It’s all about the trim-ness and that 3rd snap.) All Fuzzibunz are incredibly soft on the inside, though, and I do love that feature. Still a very good diaper though!

And the Flip is a great diaper as well, I just still only have the one liner, so I’m still just using it as a pocket diaper, basically. The fit is good and I haven’t had any leak problems. It’s a good diaper, just … back to that pocket diaper preference I mentioned earlier! πŸ™‚

And the prefolds … well, I haven’t had a real PROBLEM with them. But I do love the pockets for ease of application and frequency of diaper-changes.

We are full time in cloth now, with the occasional disposable when I’m running behind on laundry day. We have enough that we’re able to go just slightly more than two days without doing a load of laundry. I’m not sure what the magic number of days between laundry days is. But I do know that two is better than one. And three — or even four! — will be better than two. πŸ™‚

3 responses to “Cloth Diaper Update

  1. Way to go Rita! We are still loving it to:) That’s great that your nursery is on board with it too. What a help!

    How did your yard sale go? How empty is your hose now, ha!

  2. Tasha,
    We made $1300 at our yard sale on Saturday. All those funds are ear-marked for home improvements so we can get the house on the market.
    I guess I should clarify that all the items sold were not OUR items. People in our church donated stuff like CRAZY and we sold it all! What was left at the end of the day, a man who owns a thrift store came and packed up and took with him.
    And my house is MUCH emptier now. It’s great!!

  3. way to go with the diapers! SUPER excited for you! They sure have come a long way since I tried them 9 years ago! I did stick with it until Emma came along… too bums in diapers was more laundry than I could handle w/ a 13 mo old and a newborn… πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

