Relocation.

We’re moving. Since we have no time-line in the move, I guess the appropriate verbiage is “We’re planning to move.” So this is my big blog announcement. All the people close to us know this information, and this is my opportunity to answer all the questions they/you may have in one fell swoop.

Where? Newnan, Georgia (southwest Atlanta)

Why? Quick Answer: Four Corners Church.
Long Answer: Keep Reading.

When? We’re in the process of getting our house ready to put on the market. And we’re looking for a job for Kyle. So we don’t have anything that has a firm deadline to it yet. So … we don’t know. In the fall, we hope.

_____

Kyle and I visited our friends, Alex and Jana in March 2007. This would be our first trip to Newnan. We were there from Tuesday – Thursday. We saw Explosions in the Sky, I got a tattoo, we slept on air mattresses in an empty apartment because the Earlies were just a few days from moving to London. It was a quick visit in the middle of an ordinary week.

Our second trip was in March 2009. At the time, I was a handful of months pregnant and we were just visiting our friends again. We (especially Kyle) felt a fast connection with their new church plant, the people, the community. But … I was pregnant. And that just doesn’t seem like the ideal time to start thinking about uprooting and moving. There was some discussion on the way home, but it was very limited and not something we really considered. Just thought through the fun “What ifs.”

Then in May 2010, we went again. Same connection, same instant affection for the place. Slightly longer stay. We didn’t talk about moving there on the way home. But several days later, it came bursting out of me (in email form because I was terrified to say the words out loud):

I have a stomachache.
And my head is swimming.
And my nerves are raw.

I don’t know that I could actually say this out loud, but I think we might need to move to Newnan.

Which at once completely terrifies me and totally thrills me.

Obviously, this is a bigger discussion that just an email, but I just wanted to let you know what’s on my mind.

We’ve already said, and we both agree, that something’s gotta change. I don’t know if it HAS to be this big, or if this is just God shaking something up inside me that needs to be dislodged so that I don’t settle into a comfortable pattern again.

But, since I’m a girl who has to have a plan, I think you know that this is making me terribly anxious …

So that email ignited the conversation that began several weeks of prayer that lead to, “Ok, we’re moving to Newnan.” We feel confident this is where we’re supposed to go. We feel excited, nervous, sad, and lots and lots of other emotions. We’re leaving our families in South Carolina. We’re leaving some really good friends here. And a church that we love. An entire support system that we’ve spent six years building together. We know who to call when we want to play poker; who to call when our air conditioner is on the blink; who to call when we need a babysitter; who to call with car problems; who to call when we need a ride but don’t want to say, “Hey, I need a ride.” (I’m looking at you, Jenny Mattingly.)

So this move requires us to sacrifice a lot of comforts. But the problem for us became what are we sacrificing if we stay? As Christians, Kyle and I say we want our lives to count for something; and we want to see God move mightily in our family. So we have to be willing to go where he leads. And we desire to put our family in a place of obedience and complete reliance. Here, we are totally self-sufficient. We could stay here and lead a good and quiet life and, by all accounts, be “fine”. But we want so much more than fine! And we want Ivalee to grow-up knowing that the “sacrifices” we make are no sacrifice at all. It’s just what you do when you believe the Gospel.

We want our lives to be an object lesson in radical faith. And when you look at things from that perspective, moving to a suburb of Atlanta still seems kinda “kushy” doesn’t it? Nevertheless, this is what we’re doing. And we’re ready to get there. Already, our hearts are connected to the story of Four Corners and we can’t wait to plug in.

7 responses to “Relocation.

  1. WOOHOO!!! So, SO good, Rita! We’re praying for you guys – what a wonderful adventure…

    God is so good.

  2. We love you. We’re proud of you. We’re praying for you.

  3. Wow!!! That’s awesome! Justin and I will be praying for you guys as you make this change. =)

  4. Rita, we are SO excited for ya’ll! We’re so proud of your obedience. Wow! We’re praying for you…the move, the transition, Kyle’s job…

    Ahhhhh…let us know if you need anything (even though we’re a few hours away:)

  5. Wow!! Pretty sweet. I can’t wait to hear your story as you and your family makes this transition and what God does through you guys there in Newnan. I bet Alex and Jana are super excited, as are you guys to work with them! Awesome story!

  6. denise mcwhorter

    Well, Rita and Kyle, you will never be satisfied if you are not completely in God’s will and it sounds as if this is where He wants you to be at this time of your life. Blessings to you and your family. It will all work out in His timing.

    You will not be so far from family that you and they can’t visit.

    You have a gift for writing. Enjoyed your email and really got caught up in your excitement.

    Love, Ms. Denise

    PS Don’t know how in the world I missed your email!

  7. Melissa Pearson

    Rita! What an amazing step of faith! Wow! I am so excited to see what God does with the Alamo! Jonathan and I are also involved in a new church plant so in a sense I know the fears yet excitement that you must be going through. I will be praying for Four Corners Church and the unbelievable journey that you are about to embark on!

    Melissa

Leave a Reply

