Cloth Diapers

Until this weekend, we had almost* exclusively used cloth for just over two weeks. I still have 8 Bum Genius diapers,1 Flip diaper, and a handful of prefolds (which I have still not used since that one time — I’m chicken!). So going “full time cloth” has required a load of diaper laundry every day. And while this is good because it means I don’t have a pail of wet, smelly diapers to work around for very long, I’m sure it’s not the BEST for these diapers to be worn and washed every day. They’re certainly getting LOTS of use and abuse!!

The plan last month was to take advantage of the Buy 5 Get 1 sale on the Bum Genius 3.0 one-size pockets (which we still love) during the month of June and again in July, which would build our supply up to almost two days worth — meaning we’d only have to do a load of diaper laundry every other day! A welcome relief, for sure.

Then Bum Genius announced that they are discontinuing the 3.0 line. (An announcement will be made later today regarding what will replace it.) And because of the discontinuation, the 3.0 OS diapers are running out almost everywhere. I may have waited too late to get the sale, but I’m not giving up!)

Aside: I hope the new diaper has snaps, as Iva’s already learned how to undo Velcro. This is an issue that’s easily addressed by putting clothes on her. (I know! What a concept!) But, it’s so hot out, she’s a diaper-only baby a lot of the time! 🙂 Thank goodness dresses come with little “bloomers”!

I’ve learned a lot in the past three weeks.

First of all, I can do it! I haven’t forsaken our laundry to keep up with her diapers, which was a concern of mine. I also wondered if the “fascination” would fade and I might not keep up with it. But, so far it hasn’t! I’m so excited that I don’t have to worry about an “AH! I’m out of diapers!” panicked CVS-run. I do have a few disposables on-hand to serve as back-ups. But I have only had to use one in two weeks*. And that was while we were out and I had under-estimated her diaper-messing abilities! 🙂

Secondly, you can do it! I promise you, I am not a super-mom. I’m a busy, working mom whose social calendar fills up as fast as anyone else’s. But, for multiple reasons, this decision was important to me.

And if I can do it, ANYONE can do it! I have struggled with daily chores around the house as much as (or more than) anyone. But a strong theme in my life, as spoken by my wise husband, has been, “If it’s important to you, you will sacrifice for it.” If it’s important to you, you can make it happen! It may require some initial sacrifice, but you can do it! It may not come all at one time, a grand and sweeping gesture that eliminates all disposable diapers from your life forever and opens the floodgates of Cloth Diaper Blessings. But if you want to do it, You Can!

Because of my excitement about it, at least two other people I know have decided to take on the challenge and see if cloth diapers work for them. Tasha’s son Cai looks super cute in his new duds, and my sister-in-law Amy is giving them a go with Nathan to find a less-expensive way to diaper … since she has another one on the way!

[Tasha’s son is one week older than Ivalee, and Nathan is one month older, so we’re all making the switch after 10+ months of disposables. Tasha  analyzed the savings over the next two years or so and, even showing up late to the game, we’ll still be saving money in the long run. Not to mention future children who will be able to use the same diapers with minimal to no added expense!]

I know there’s a wealth of information available on the subject and that can  make you feel totally inadequate. But don’t be overwhelmed. There’s basic information you should determine before making the jump (how you’ll store dirty diapers, which detergent you’ll be using), but once you get the process started, it really is simple to keep it going.  If you’re on the fence and you want to do it, DO IT!

*Confession: I used disposables this weekend, since we were out of town visiting Kyle’s mom. Certainly she would’ve let us use her washing machine, but it was a really busy weekend, and … that just seemed presumptuous. When my stash is larger, I’ll be more prepared to handle time away from home. But for right now, this was the best solution.
6 responses to “Cloth Diapers

  1. You have no idea how happy this makes me. 🙂

  2. Rita – We are thinking of making the switch to CD as well!! You guys have inspired me!! So I have a question – have you tried the ‘flip’ diaper anymore, and what do you think about it now??

    • I thought about blogging about that soon. I still only have one cover/liner. I LIKE it, but I wouldn’t say I love it. I am probably going to get a couple more liners for it so I can use it to its full potential. (Versus a pocket diaper, its main benefit is that you can use it more than once as long as the cover doesn’t get wet or soiled. And versus the BG 3.0, another benefit is the snaps!) I’ve basically been using it the same as a pocket diaper because of the single liner. (I could use a prefold, I just haven’t. I need to get over my prefold issues!)

      I do really like the liner. I haven’t had a leak with it at all. It’s a good diaper — I just haven’t used it as much as I can and will in the future.

  3. I’m still too scared and intimidated to try. What ifthe ones I invest in don’t work the best for Ri? And is it really cheaper than disposables when you coupon? Just last week I got a box of Huggies for $2.50 and another for $4.00. I just don’t know if its really worth my sanity. But I’m intrigued.

Leave a Reply

