Cloth Diapers

cloth diaper

So we’ve started a new trial at the Polk house. And I’m not sure how frequently I’ll update about this, but I’m excited about giving this a go, so I wanted to post about it.

Recently, Ivalee’s had a few bouts with some pretty awful diaper rash. We’ve dealt with some redness before, but it got pretty gross at times and I grew concerned about the frequency of it. I did find that using Huggies Pure & Natural diapers seemed to help some, but the idea of cloth diapers has been in the back of my head since I was pregnant. At the time, I decided it wasn’t something I wanted to attempt. I didn’t have a good laundry system in place at all, and I knew to add something else to that on-going pile — particularly something soaked in pee or covered in poop — would be detrimental to my sanity.

And I don’t mean to imply that I’m Mrs. Sally Homemaker now, but Tasha introduced me to a great tool that has really helped me out a lot! Fly Lady. By doing a little bit at a time and not trying to complete every project all at one time in crisis-cleaning mode, I’ve been able to stay on top of daily chores like dishes and laundry and clutter-busting, etc. a lot more effectively. (And that’s my little commercial.)

So a couple of weeks ago, I mentioned to Kyle that I might want to try switching to cloth and he said, “If you want to try it, let’s do it.” So I started doing some investigating. And I spoke with Cassie,who has cloth diapered Sam since the beginning and is a pro at it! And along with sending me an email with lots of information, she sent me a box with some starter supplies! How awesome is that!?!

In the box were two Bum Genius 3.0 diapers, a Flip diaper, 5 pre-folds, a Snappi, a Thirsties cover, a wet bag, and a diaper pail-liner. (Pretty sure I got that right. Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong, Cassie! 😀 )

So yesterday afternoon, I prepped them all and we got started using them! I started with one of the Bum Geniuses because it’s the one I’d been eying the most online. I used both of the inserts for extra overnight protection and, besides being a little more “fluffy”, putting it on is just as easy as a disposable! And this morning, there were no leaks to speak of. I had some concerns that I hadn’t “done it right” or something. But these things are as simple as can be. There’s no science to it. Just insert and apply. Easy peasy.

Bum Genius for the win. I’m sold on them already. However, they’re not the most economical cloth diaper. That award goes to the prefold / Snappi / cover combo. So I’ll be trying those out this afternoon / evening. And I’ll report back on their presumed success.

If you’re reading this and are interested in trying out cloth diapers for your baby, Cassie gave me this website that answered a lot of the questions I had in a very concise manner. If you’ve done research at all, you know that it can be scattered and confusing. This website makes it simple.

5 responses to “Cloth Diapers

  1. I was gonna do cloth diapers…but then I chickened out. Disposables seemed so much easier and I didn’t wanna add any stress to an already strssful newborn routine. Plus, as you mentioned, there are SO many opinions and I was honestly afraid I would get a brand I didn’t like or that didn’t work for Ri’s body type. That’s awesome you had a friend to help you like that. I’ll be interested to hear your opinion on everything…so please do more posts! 🙂

    P.S. coconut oil is awesome for diaper rash and all kinds of other things…raw, unrefined…its pretty fabulous

  2. Yay! They are easy! And all of your links were correct. I hope you love them. 🙂 I hope you like the prefolds, too. The only thing is you have to change them a little more often. Some babies who were in disposables don’t like prefolds at first because they can feel the wetness. Before you know it, you’ll be lightning fast at folding them, though!

    If she still has a rash, make sure you’re using a CD-safe cream. I didn’t think to include that in your package.

    Sue – I thought maybe it was just because we didn’t know any better (we cloth-diapered from the beginning) that we thought CDs were so easy. But when he’s in disposables for chemo is MISS his diapers! No poopy blowouts or pee-soaked pjs in the morning! If you are ever interested in trying them again and have around $150 to drop you could do a diaper trial. You get to try out lots of different types and see what works best for you little ones, and send back the ones you don’t like and get a refund! Also, I checked your your blog bio and it seems like we share a little bit in common. I also have PCOS and we tried to conceive for 2 years. Sam was born on 11/25/09.

  3. You know I’m going to comment, Rita! I am SO totally excited that you’re going to do this!!!!! I’ve been getting ready to do it for years and am really excited about all of the benefits. It does get frustrating though having to always be defensive about the decision when people look at me like I’m crazy. It’ll be so, so nice to have a friend who does it, too. I’ve got lots of friends up north who cloth diaper, but no one I know down here did. But now you do! And I’m so happy!! Congratulations!! I know I haven’t had a baby to actually DO it yet, but I do have years of research under my belt if you have any questions. I’m going with 90% pocket one-size diapers of several different brands, and the rest are sized AIOs to make things easier for nursery workers and babysitters. Let me know if you need anything! Love ya!

  4. Yeah, glad you took the plunge. I’m excited to hear how it goes for little Iva!

    I really, really want to but I don’t know if it would be worth it with as much as we travel and this being our third, I don’t know if I want to invest or not? Oh the decisions…

Leave a Reply

