The Teething Necklace

Several months ago, I purchased an amber teething necklace. I didn’t post about it over here or really talk about it online a lot because several sites I researched before making the purchase had comments from nay-sayers who thought they were just a terrible idea. So I didn’t want to open this page up as a forum for that kind if exchange before I had a chance to develop my own opinion.

So my opinion is fully formed now, and you can say whatever you want to! πŸ™‚ The Polks are dedicated fans of the Amber Teething Necklace.

The premise behind the product is that the amber beads, when warmed by your child’s body heat, release a natural analgesic that helps to alleviate teething pain.

Three things immediately affected my decision to make this purchase:

1) My nephew Nathan cut two teeth with his and, besides more drool, Amy and Craig didn’t even know he was teething. This is a far cry from typical teething stories, involving tears, fevers, and sleepless nights.

2) At six months, Iva had a few of those nights herself. She pulled at her gums, screaming and crying. I knew right away that I had to do something to soothe her pain. So I administered Tylenol and googled natural remedies. The teething necklace was at the top of my list.

3) I’m not a big fan of medicine. Even for myself, I’d rather take a nap than a Tylenol for a headache. (This does not apply to all ailments. Sometimes medicine is completely necessary, and it is taken as advised under those conditions.)

So we’ve had the necklace for a month or so now and have worn it almost constantly.

And Iva has two teeth. Aunt Mendy found them at Wesley’s birthday party yesterday. No swollen gums, no crying or moodiness. Just two little white, ridgy teeth poking through her bottom gums.

For the past couple of weeks, she’s been twisting her tongue and rubbing the side of it along her bottom gums. But I just smiled at this new development – something she got from me, since her dad can’t twist his tongue – and didn’t think anything else of it. πŸ™‚ Oops!

The Squirrel is growing up!

8 responses to “The Teething Necklace

  1. I told you. πŸ™‚

  2. Does she wear it when she sleeps? That’s my only concern with Sam. His is a little loose…

    • Iva wears hers all the time. Bath time, bed time, and every other time. But hers is short enough that it’s out of sight and out of mind. One thing that is a good idea that I appreciate about hers is that there is a big knot in the cord between each bead, so even if she were to pull on it and break it, at most one or two beads will come off. Genius!

      Is Sam teething already?

      • Yep… I didn’t believe it at first. His has the knots between the beads, too. I’m more worried about him getting strangled or something…

  3. Where did you get yours from? I have a friend whose 4 (older) kids where them for allergies and she swears by them. I’m thinking about getting one for both our boys…

    • etsy.com has them! That’s not where I ordered mine from, but it’s where I would order it from if I had it to do over again! πŸ™‚ (I had some minor problems with communication, as the lady I ordered from turned out to be from Latvia and didn’t speak great English!) πŸ˜€

  4. It’s wonderful to hear that more and more parents are becoming aware of the natural healing powers of Baltic Amber. In Europe, it as been a tradition for centuries. Amber for teething; amber for respiratory problems; amber for arthritis; beautiful amber for wearing as a treasure. Your points on the structure of teething necklaces and bracelets are absolutely correct. The beads should be smooth and highly polished as well to ensure proper contact with the baby as well as the benefits that amber adds to the body’s own immune system.

  5. solar energy consumption

Leave a Reply

