A New Nook

photo

This is not a great picture. But you get the point.

This is a new addition to the nursery. I’ve been thinking about making this project happen for a couple of months now. It was low on the priority list. But I mentioned it in front of Mrs. Elliott – the pastor’s wife at the church where I work, my good friend, and Ivalee’s “Auntie El” – and she liked the idea and took the project on herself. She bought the shelf and she and Pastor Hal attached the wooden pegs and painted it. And they gave it to Ivalee as a Valentine’s present.

The dress hanging beneath is a dress (that needs to be ironed) that my Aunt Karen made for me when I was a baby. She gave it to me for Ivalee, but by the time I got it, it was too small for her to wear. So that was the main reason I wanted the whole contraption – as a way to hang the dress up in the room.

And since I had some extra hooks, I decided to also hang up the little blanket. My Granny (dad’s mom) crocheted that blanket years ago, when her daughters were young. It was intended to be for their children. But they never had children, so Aunt Janice passed it on to Mendy. We all three used the blanket as the “coming home” blanket with our little ones last year. And since I was the last one to “come home”, the blanket is still at my house. And here it will hang until the next round of cousins need to “come home”.

One response to “A New Nook

  1. Aww, I LOVE it!! It is so so sweet – and of course I adore the granny square blanket… Seriously love love love.

Leave a Reply

