One Year Later

It’s hard to imagine that it’s been a year, but it has. Everything in our worlds changed in a moment on Christmas Eve 2008. When we found out you would be joining our family, we were shocked and excited and a little scared. What if we weren’t ready? What if we weren’t cut out to be parents? We’d spent over four years building our marriage and our life together, always knowing kids would one day be a serious consideration, but not knowing how long it would take us to start that conversation. Your dad and I had a happy life.

And we didn’t know how much happier we could be.

But you’ve taught us. We’re a family now, we three Polks. And it seems like you’ve always been a part of us. I can hardly remember a time when you weren’t here.

But I will always hold in my heart the day I found out about you. A moment so full of terror and joy that I can’t explain with words. Followed by a year so unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. Followed by the most amazing day of my life on which I met the best baby I’ve ever known.

Our lives are richer for knowing you, Little One. We’re grateful every day for who you are and what you’ve brought to our family.

4 responses to “One Year Later

  1. and that’s how it should be!

  2. You made me cry. Thank you.

  3. so sweet! we are blessed to have such precious little girls!

  4. I *just* found this post. Makes me want to cry! How sweet it is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

