The New Normal

Today was my first day back on the job after Maternity Leave. I didn’t really know what to think about today, going into it. I had very mixed emotions. Naturally, I was sad about having to leave her and go back to work 7.5 hours out of the day, 5 days a week. But I’m the type of person who kinda craves a routine, so I was somewhat anxious to see what our New Routine would look like.

Kyle had requested to come in a little later to work this morning so he could help me get ready and get her ready on my first day back. SO thoughtful, and I couldn’t have possibly gotten everything done without him today. I learned very quickly that an hour and a half isn’t nearly enough and tomorrow, I’ll have to get up at least 30 minutes earlier to do everything by myself!!

So this morning, I set my alarm for 6:30, and got up at 6:45. I showered and dried my hair while Kyle entertained her andΒ  changed her diaper. Then I fed her and tried to apply my makeup while Kyle showered and then picked my clothes out for work. Then I dressed her and jumped in my clothes while he put her in her carseat and got her ready to go to Gran’s for the day. He dropped her off and I went to work, RIGHT ON TIME, but not a minute early.

My mom (“Gran”) is keeping her while I work, which is awesome. I know she doesn’t really see it as a sacrifice at all and she’s completely happy to do it, but it’s really the only reason I feel ok about being back at work at all. I know she’s well taken care of! πŸ™‚ And my mom brings her to the office at lunch time so I can feed her and spend some time with her in the middle of the day. It was a nice way to “divide” the day today.

Back in the office this morning, I spent a lot of time cleaning up my desk, sorting through six weeks worth of papers, and trying to re-familiarize myself with my surroundings. I felt it was a very productive day because my desk was cleaner and more organized when I left than it was when I arrived — though that seems like it might be a little backwards … and, in truth, it probably is. πŸ™‚

Anyway. All said and done, it was good to get back in the office. It’s kinda the best of both worlds, with my mom “at the reins” with Iva, making sure I get to spend as much time with her as possible at lunch. And me back at work, being productive because apparently that’s important to me! πŸ˜€

5 responses to “The New Normal

  1. Oh Rita! What an awesome set up you guys have! That truly is the best of both worlds… we have a good family friend that keeps James twice a week for me to take a student (pretty much a mother-figure to Jim and me) and I’m so thankful she’s there to give her undivided attention to him. And I totally know what you mean – it’s nice to have a routine and know what to expect… I’m trying to convince James concerning this and his sleep habits πŸ˜‰

    Btw, we’ll be down at Folly Beach the last weekend in October – maybe we can all meet up for coffee or lunch or something!

  2. No kidding, “best of both worlds”! How blessed you are. πŸ™‚

  3. You’re so lucky to work close enough that you can see her in the middle of the day. I haven’t even had my little dude yet and I’m already dreading going back to work. Alex is going to get to spend most days with him and my parents/his parents will pick up some shifts. I plan on looking for something closer and *fingers crossed* part time while I’m on leave. We’re praying that it works out.

  4. Hey Rita – It’s been awhile, not sure if you remember me, you did my wedding programs several years back (we used to be friends on Xanga) – but anyway, congrats on Iva, she’s adorable! I had my first, a little boy named Jack in May – and i went back to work a couple months ago. Congrats again!! (I’m on Facebook, I’ll find you!)

  5. I’m so glad your first day back went so well. That’s awesome that your mom can be there to takr over for you=)

Leave a Reply

