Ivalee Update

I’m typing this from my phone, so forgive the lack of interesting formatting and anything other than text. And probably a healthy smattering of typos. šŸ™‚

So, does it surprise you to hear me say that I think my baby is the best?! For the past week, she’s been sleeping for five hours at night. She doesn’t always go right back to sleep after she eats – like she does during the day. But I just snuggle up with her and try to keep her quiet so Kyle can keep sleeping. And with the assistance of The Pacifier, she drifts off eventually.

I’ve been working halfheartedly on getting her on a schedule. Only halfheartedly because Iva’s got her own schedule — one that closely resembles the one in the book I’ve been reading. So I kinda just let her do her thing. (Along the Infant Way is the book I’ve been using – it’s a loaner from a friend. She highlighted the important stuff, so I cheat and just read the yellow parts.) Iva eats every three hours or so. I try to keep her up for a little playtime or bathtime or errand-running after each feeding. Then naptime, and she wakes up right in time for her next feeding. I think one thing I’ll need to do better about consistently is keeping her awake during the day so we can work out the issue of her not wanting to go back to sleep at night. I can see that that might be an issue when I go back to work.

She’s taken a few naps in her crib in the nursery a couple times the past few days. And tonight, I laid her down in there and she is asleep in there for the first time at night. So far, so good. Probably harder for me than her. šŸ™‚

At her appointment last Thursday, she weighed 9 lbs. 2 oz. She is in the 50th percentile for weight, height, and head circumference. A perfectly average-sized baby. šŸ™‚

But far above average in beauty.

5 responses to “Ivalee Update

  1. “But far above average in beauty.” You’ve got that right!!
    Rita, not talking to you much lately has made me sad – but I’m overjoyed for the reason why. It’s wonderful to hear and see you loving motherhood so much!

  2. she’s a beauty!

    So you inspired me to figure out how to blog from my phone too (this will come in handy seeing as how I don’t have Internet at home). The only thing is, It puts my picture at the very top and adds extra text about Verizon and stuff at the bottom. I’m thinkin maybe you blogged from your phone using your phone’s internet??

    • Yeh, I’m connected to the internet thru my phone. And I use the WordPress app on my iPhone to update.

      You should still update from your phone – even
      with the extra text. Your avid fans won’t
      mind. šŸ™‚

  3. She is one of the cutest babies I have ever seen, and I’m not just saying that! We use that book too and it’s such a lifesaver, just knowing what each stage could be like and what babies are capable of. She’ll get that sleeping down soon enough. I’m so glad she is going so long for you at night! Micaiah is finally down to only 1 feeding at night and then I wake him up at 7am to start the day, man he’s an eater=)

    Hey, I just looked at our calendar and we’re supposed to be in Raleigh that weekend you’ll be in but I’m not sure when we’ll leave. Maybe it will still work out to see ya’ll Sat. morning. I’m sure Josh would love to see the show too, is that on Friday night?

    • The show is definitely on Friday night. Not sure what time yet, but I’ll let you know. And just let me know about Saturday morning and we’ll see what we can work out. Hopefully it will work out. We haven’t seen you guys since our wedding weekend – and Rainy was still in the belly. It’s been five years! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

