The Two Week Update

Our little girl tipped the scales at 8 lbs. 4 oz. today. At her appointment last week, the pediatrician said they’d be very happy to see her at her birthweight at this week’s appointment. Iva did them 6 oz. better! 🙂 She’s feeding very well (as if I have to say that, right?). We had a few issues to overcome early on, but we’ve learned some important lessons together and … we’re a professional eating/feeding team now! 🙂 (Many thanks are owed to my friend Heather Smith — La Leche League extraordinaire and REALLY quick email-responder!!)

I have some pictures to upload. Hopefully I’ll get those up tonight. Wesley was in town for a few days (with Mendy & Derek, naturally), so we got Cousin Pictures with him and Nathan and Iva! I think we’ll have at least a couple that will turn out. I’ll get them posted asap.

I had my own appointment yesterday. I don’t think I mentioned that I had a spike in my blood pressure while I was at Iva’s first ped. appointment last week. My feet were swollen, so one of the nurses said, “Would you mind if I check your blood pressure?” My BP was never high during pregnancy, so I thought it would be nothing. It was something. Don’t remember the exact numbers, but when I called it in to my doctor’s office, they said, “How soon can you get here?” Long story short, it turned out to be nothing.

Aside: I blame it on the stress of the pediatrician’s waiting room. Seriously!! Is it just my ped’s office, or are there really baaaaaad parenting examples in all ped offices? Last week it was the 5ish-year old boy with his dirty fingers (seriously right out of the dirt kind of dirty) in my baby’s face while his mom stood there, saying nothing. Then another kid playing on my feet. Then two kids running out of the Sick Child waiting room screaming at the top of their lungs repeatedly while mom said nothing. This week it was the stellar parents screaming, “Don’t make me hurt you! Get the f*** up!” at their children. Seriously. There needs to be a licensing program for parents. I digress.

So my appointment yesterday was just to check my BP and make sure it was staying down. It was back to normal and so were my feet/ankles, so … all clear.

Speaking of feet and ankles — they look anorexic or something. I guess I’d kinda gotten used to them being swollen. Now they look REALLY skinny!!

Speaking of REALLY skinny … I’m not yet, but I have dropped 41 lbs. and I’m only 12-ish lbs. away from my pre-pregnancy weight!! (It was mostly water weight, so … don’t be too impressed. All I had to do was pee a lot to shed the pounds!) I topped out at 193 the day before she was born, and yesterday I was down to 152. Woot woot!! And when all my business gets done healing up, I’ll be excited to get out and keep walking to get some of this other weight off. (I’m surprised by how much I care about this. I’m so vain!)

Little Miss Ivalee seems to have her days and nights mixed up currently. As long as I can get a nap in during the day, this isn’t REALLY an issue. But I do look forward to the time when we can get this minor misunderstanding ironed out! Hopefully in the next few weeks, before I go back to work. (Which I 100% do NOT want to do … but whatever. We’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.)

Ok, that’s the update. I’ll get some more pictures posted soon.

3 responses to “The Two Week Update

  1. You are so not vain for wanting to get back to your normal weight…now that you lost 40 pounds so quickly, I will be greatly disappointed if I don’t as well. 🙂 Haha j/k

    But I am looking forward to having “skinny” ankles again.

  2. That is so awesome that you’ve lost almost all your weight already=) I only have 10 more 12 more to go too! I’m ready to get out and get my exercise on too…

  3. great update! i’m glad you’re both doing so well. btw, could you email me your address? I have a book for little Iva! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

