Full Term

Holy Moly. We’re here. At the point where whenever Iva arrives, she’ll be fully formed and ready for breathing oxygen … and squeezing her daddy’s finger … and kicking her cousins on the OUTSIDE instead of from the inside.

We got the changing table yesterday. So when I got home from work, I moved the diaper stacker to hang from the side of it, put lots of diapers inside, set up the wipe warmer, and put on the changing pad cover. And last night, Kyle and I bought some basket-ish type things to go on the shelves underneath. And then we sorted her clothes into the baskets. (Sort and re-sort. Organize and re-organize. I feel like that’s what I do in that room all the time. This baby needs to hurry up and come out or I’m not going to be able to find anything in her room, due to my excellent over-organization skills!!)

Ok. I could go on and on and on, but I’m going to stop myself. And I’m stealing Susan’s method for a succinct update! 🙂

Week and day: 37 weeks, 0 days

Belly Button in or out: Still in, if only slightly.

Wedding rings on or off: Still wearing the band, but only because it’s too big in real life, so it actually fits right now! 🙂

Food cravings: I really want ice cream all the time. I’ve only allowed myself to have it VERY few times since the diabetes diagnosis. (Sugar free or No Sugar Added have proven not to raise my sugar levels too much, but are generally probably not that good for me anyway, so I just usually skip out. This week, it was on sale BOGOFree at BiLo, so I’ve indulged in 1/2 c. amounts twice. And enjoyed every single bite!)

Food aversions:
Absolutely none!

Nausea: None.

Energy level: I gotta get at least one nap in every day. If I can get two (one at lunch, and one when I get home from work), that’s even better! And I’ve had Kyle start insisting that I go to bed at 10 every night. And I’m finding it harder and harder to be up by seven in the morning. (I usually try to get up at 6:30. That hasn’t happened in a while.)

Weight gain:
I don’t wanna talk about it! 🙂 I’ve capped out at 190. That’s a lot! Eesh.

Mood: I think I’m generally in a good mood. I’m sick this week, so that kinda sucks. I think it’s just a summer cold, but it’s definitely a downer. The ability to breathe is one I definitely take for granted!!

Back to the point, I’m getting really excited. At this point, I’m not concerned about labor (I’ll eat those words, I know, but I just see it as a means to an end). Seeing Kyle get so excited has had a calming effect on me. If he were nervous or tense, I’d probably be a basket case. He’s so excited!

Size of baby: “Your baby weighs 6 1/3 pounds and measures a bit over 19 inches, head to heel (like a stalk of Swiss chard).” (from babycenter.com … what the heck is Swiss chard???)

Changes of baby: “Congratulations — your baby is full term! This means that if your baby arrives now, her lungs should be fully mature and ready to adjust to life outside the womb, even though your due date is still three weeks away.” (again, from babycenter.com)

Next appointment:
Tuesday at 11:40 AM. It’s my weekly time.

Other: Oh my word, with the swelling!! It started at the end of June with my feet swelling. And as the summer heat has increased, it has crept up to my knees! FAT KNEES! SO WEIRD!! I usually have “chicken legs”. (I always have had very skinny legs, a fact which my long-time friends don’t let me forget.) So to look down, at any point during the day — not just after a particularly long day — and see these chubby legs is kinda weird!!

swollen feet

5 responses to “Full Term

  1. You are so much braver and less vain than me – I couldn’t bear to post a picture of my chubby ankles. I have even thought about not wearing a skirt to my shower tomorrow because it shows my ankles too much.

    🙂

    • Susan,
      I wore pants last night when Kyle and I ran to Target and ate dinner. He almost had to peel them off me when we got home. And these were my “big” maternity pants. They’re fine in my hips and thighs, but they are SO TIGHT on my knees and shins.

      So pants seem no longer to be an option! Skirts are where it’s at!!

  2. It will all be worth it the moment you hold her in your arms…. I’m excited too!

  3. I like the new update format! 😀

  4. good update! It’s not long now! I love your positive attitude about labor, that’s just the ticket to a good one. You’re gonna rock.

    Just watch the sodium (seriously read labels, you’ll be shocked) to help with those ankles. 🙂 I really did laugh when I saw your fb status tonight. Way to go with walking!

Leave a Reply

