WHOA!

Today was my 35-week appointment. I’m 2 cm dilated, 70% effaced, and she could feel Iva’s head!

And she kept saying, “We’re gonna see this baby sooner than we’re thinking.”

Aye carumba! This is happening, isn’t it?

13 responses to “WHOA!

  1. AAAHHH!!! It IS happening!! Are you Braxton Hixing or contracting at all?

    Yahoo!!

    • Well I’ve been having The Hix for the past couple of months. I would say that some of what I was experiencing on Sunday evening was a _little_ more intense than what I’ve been used to in the past. But after a few minutes of walking, it went away.

      I guess it could be the beginning of the contractions. BAHHHHHH!!!!!

      She told me exactly what to feel for to tell if it was an actual contraction. And then talked me through the “early labor” stuff that you read about and talk about in Birthing Class that, until now, has been “file away for the future” kind of information.

  2. YYYAAAAAYYYY!!!!!!!!

  3. Whoopie!!! This is so exciting! I will definitely be praying for all the standard “healthy baby, safe delivery” stuff, but also that God will lift the anxiety and nervousness right out of your heart. Love you! πŸ™‚

  4. holy smoly – it’s closer than we thought! How exciting!!!!!

  5. awesome! Remember, you will KNOW when it’s time to “go in” and when it is “the real thing” πŸ™‚ Are you planning to stay home for early labor? I can’t remember, are you doing the birth center thing?

    so, 2cm? That’s cool, but the 70% effaced, now that’s exciting! You know the birth-junkie that I am is really wishing I could be there!

    • And you know the first-time mom that I am is really wishing you could be here too.

      I do plan to do the early labor at home, with kyle’s help. But the delivery will happen in a hospital.

      • I think you’re going to do awesome. Glad you’re laboring early at home. First babies take their time and don’t always follow the 1cm-per-hour minimum speed limit the hospitals set. So staying home lessens the pressures for extra measures to push you along. The average first baby is 12-18 hours. πŸ˜› You’ll get there!

  6. Travis Wright

    so glad you shared that:)

  7. So not fair. I’ve been at 2 cm and 50% effaced for 3 weeks and am over 39 weeks pregnant and she says today…”I promise we won’t let you go TOO over your due date. Within 2 weeks honey, just hang in there.”

    WHAT?!

    • 😦 Sorry, Tasha! That little one will come (right out of your belly button) very soon!! I can’t wait to see pictures! You guys make such cute kids!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

