Blueberries

If you’ve been following me on Twitter or facebook recently, you’ve read a few tweets about The New Diet and how I’m finding really good foods that I can make that are diabetic-friendly and heart-healthy. (This has long been an issue that I’ve had with regards to the Atkins Diet and other diets like it. Almost all fatty foods are considered “freebies” just because they’re low-carb/low-sugar. Nevermind that your cholesterol is soaring through the roof and your arteries are clogging up because of all the meat, cheese, and fatty condiments that are considered “freebies” while on that “diet”. Not that the Atkin’s Diet cannot be done in a healthy way, but … I digress.)

Now, I should preface this all by saying, I’m not a dietician or a nutritionist. I’m just Rita. And this has been my experience in dealing with my Gestational Diabetes.

My mom was cleaning out her freezer recently and passed along to me several bags of blueberries that she had frozen a couple of summers ago. And thus began my search for ways to use them. I found two recipes that are low-sugar and low-carb – and yummy! (And isn’t that really the important part?)

OATMEAL AND WHEAT BLUEBERRY PANCAKES

In the interest of full-disclosure, the original recipe that I found for this was here. I made only a few minor changes.

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 2 cups soy milk (I use Silk Light, because it’s the lowest carb milk I could find. I’m sure regular milk would work just fine, if that’s what you have.)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • dash of cinnamon (optional)

In a large bowl, combine oatmeal and milk. Set aside. In a small bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Stir into the oatmeal mixture. Add eggs and applesauce, stirring to mix thoroughly. Fold in blueberries.

Use 1/3 c. measure to place batter on heated griddle. Cook over medium heat for 3-4 minutes per side. (Because of the oats, these will not “bubble” like regular pancakes when it’s time to flip.)

I serve mine with sugar-free maple syrup. Reviewers of the online recipe recommend this “Fast Blueberry Sauce“. May be worth a shot! If you try it, let me know how it is. 🙂

BANANA BLUEBERRY MUFFINS

Who would’ve thought bananas and blueberries go together? Someone’s brilliant!

The original recipe came from here and I made minor changes.

  • 4 large, ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup sugar/Splenda
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoonbaking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoonsalt
  • 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

Mash bananas in a large mixing bowl. Add Splenda and egg. Add butter and blueberries. Combine dry ingredients and gently stir into banana mixture. Pour into 12 standard-sized, paper-lined muffin cups. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes, or until they pass the “toothpick test”.

From the original recipe, I added a banana and cut back on the sugar/Splenda amount. The bananas bring tons of flavor and natural sweetness, so you don’t need as much sugar, in my opinion. And because of the extra banana, I was able to cut back on the amount of butter as well.

Ok. I still have other recipes I’ll be sharing as I find nutritionally sound and delicious ones to share.

2 responses to “Blueberries

  1. They look so delicious! But to make them I’d have to actually cooook!? If I fail my glucose test will you come and be my personal chef?

Leave a Reply

