The Unofficial Nursery To Do List, Updated:

  • Pick out a paint color
  • Purchase paint
  • Take the shelf / bar out of the closet
  • Remove closet doors
  • Spackle walls inside closet
  • Check the hardwoods under the carpet to see what condition they’re in
  • Paint the walls
  • Paint the ceiling
  • Remove the carpet/tack strip/staples  from the floor
  • Install quarter-round around the perimeter of the room, covering the gaps between the baseboards and the floors
  • Paint the trim
  • Install closet organizer
  • Hang new blinds in the windows
  • Realize that one set of blinds (the one we had JUST picked up from Lowe’s that morning) is crushed in the box, rendering them – along with their hardware – completely useless and requiring yet ANOTHER trip back to Lowe’s. Argh.
  • Patch ceiling “popcorn” stuff in the area where the roof leaked.
  • Repaint a section of the wall next to the ceiling work, as that was quite a messier job than was anticipated.
  • Touch-up wall paint in random places where it needs touching up.
  • Thoroughly clean the floors
  • Start moving in “the pretty stuff”
  • Make and hang curtains for two windows and the closet
  • Sometime in late August, have a baby and bring her home to her new, awesome room!

Ok, can I just admit it? I’m so over this nursery project!! I’m ready for it to be done. I’m ready to have all the pretty stuff moved in, all the tools and paint cans, and dropcloths moved out, and the room put together. And we’re SO CLOSE. We just keep hitting minor snags in the road and I’m getting impatient! 🙂

You can tell from my impatience that my ideas of “updating a room” are generally pretty simple. If I’m gonna paint, I’m gonna do it all in one day, get it done and get stuff put back. And that’s that. This has been a bigger project than I’m used to and, while the results are going to be worth the extra time and effort, it’s just a longer wait than I’m used to.

And with that, I’m done whining. Would somebody please just tell me to put on my Big Girl Panties and get over it? 🙂 Thanks.

2 responses to “The Unofficial Nursery To Do List, Updated:

  1. HAHA! You’re too funny=)

  2. And NO I’m not going to tell you to just get over it. Sometimes it just feels good to whine!

Leave a Reply

