The ‘Betes

As you may recall, I failed both of my glucose tests. So that means I have Gestational Diabetes. I had an appointment with a nutritionist last Tuesday and the general idea for treatment is to control it with my diet. I have to test my blood sugar four times a day – first thing in the morning and one hour after each meal – and count carbs like it’s my job. Not a really huge deal.

Initially my reaction to the diagnosis was probably a bit of an overreaction.  (Kyle might would argue that it was “more than a bit”.) Due to the fact that my dad’s side of the family has a strong trend of diabetes in it, I am already somewhat predisposed to the condition. And statistics say that 2 out of 5 moms who have Gestational Diabetes later develop Type 2 Diabetes. So … double whammy.

But who “by being anxious can add a single hour to his (or her) span of life?” (Matthew 6:27) Certainly not me. So why try?

So the treatment at this point is to count carbs and test blood sugar like they’re both going out of style. And to pray that, in doing so, Miss Iva will grow normally and not be  a “Fat Baby”, as are supposedly common for moms with diabetes.

I have a little bit of an issue with the nutritionist who told me last week that “they’ll want to take her at around 39 weeks and not let me go to 40 weeks, because the infant mortality rate increases after 39 weeks with ‘these big diabetes babies'”. Oh, I feel like I’m going to be such a bad patient. Up until this point, I’ve measured completely average. And my sugar levels aren’t even that high at all! I’m averaging around 85 first thing in the morning (supposed to be under 100), and around 110 or so after eating (when they want to keep it under 140). It is TOO early to start talking about scheduling an induction or a c-section. And it is TOO inappropriate of you to start throwing around phrases like “infant mortality rate” to scare me into making a decision down the road.

I know those procedures are medically necessary at times — and may be necessary in my situation. And I’m open to that down the road, if we see it’s necessary. But at this point, you don’t KNOW my baby’s going to be “SO BIG”. It’s too soon to know that!

Ok, I’m going to hop down off my soapbox now.

I have an appointment this morning with The Mean Midwife again. Hopefully it’s a better meeting that last time’s. I’d REALLY like to be seeing Tonya today, given the amount of information I’d like to discuss with someone I trust — not someone who defaults to thinking I eat cakes and cookies and pies all day every day. I’ll update later and let you know how it goes.

6 responses to “The ‘Betes

  1. I completely agree with you – it’s way too early for them to be talking about inducing or c-sections. I really think so many doctors do that out of fear of being sued more than anything…and in turn, place fear in the mom that she’ll harm her baby if she doesn’t comply. I’ll be curious to see what the midwife says!

  2. You know what I would’ve said to that diabetes nurse? SUUCK IIIIT!

  3. I remember them using those tactics with my pregnancy with Emma. Stick to your guns and remember that God is in control and has alread figured out your little gal’s birthday and knows every day of her life forward from there. Praying over every decision, He can give you a total peace with your birth choices. Always ask, what if I wait? and What else can I do?

  4. Whoa. Just because THEY deal with complications every day does NOT mean it’s appropriate to throw them in your face, ESPECIALLY since you’ve been measuring just fine, thankyouverymuch. Not cool, nutritionist… not cool.

  5. I agree! It’s too early to tell. I had a friend who had GD, and they told her her baby was going to be 10lbs so they gave her a c-section only to find out the baby was….5POUNDS!!!

    So you can never really tell. I’ll be praying for you guys!

  6. We will be right there with you every step of the way. It sounds like things are going great and the doctors are just taking any and every precautions. Nothing to worry about and a lot to be thankful for, you have great doctors.

Leave a Reply

