Granola

granola

Yesterday was my first experience making homemade granola. And, oh boy, this stuff is good. As you probably remember, I have been diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes, so as I was doing my grocery shopping this weekend, I was paying more attention to the amount of sugar and carbs in the items I was purchasing. I’ve really wanted to get some granola for the past week or so, so I looked in the cereal aisle and … you guessed it. Too much sugar!

I’ve seen recipes like this one that I used floating around the blogosphere and I’ve bookmarked them for later use. And “later” came yesterday! So here’s the recipe:

GRANOLA

Adjust oven rack to middle position, and preheat oven to 275 degrees.

Prepare a 9x13x2 cake pan.

Mix the dry ingredients:

4.5 cups oats
4 TBSP brown sugar
½ tsp or a few shakes of salt
¾ cup of nuts, (I used pecans, because it’s what I had in the cabinet – but I bet almonds would be awesome.)
A couple dashes of cinnamon to taste

(I may add raisins or dried cranberries or cherries next time.)

Bring to a simmer the following:

½ cup maple syrup (I used sugar-free stuff that they have in the grocery store — nothing fancy, as sugar-free syrup is definitely not a product with lots of options)
6 TBSP canola oil
2 TBSP water
1 tsp. vanilla extract
zest of one orange

Drizzle over oat mixture, and stir to combine.

Pour mixture onto prepared pan. Pinch it all over to make clusters.

Bake for 30 minutes. Check. Continue to bake until golden brown, at about 5-10 minutes intervals. (Remember to check often, as I’ve read that granola can be done cooking and then start burning very quickly.) Let cool and pry up with a big, flat spatula.

3 responses to “Granola

  1. Josh has been begging me to make him granola for 2 years. I may just have to steal your recipe=) Thanks for sharing!

  2. Yummy. Looks and sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

