A Craigslist Success Story

Yesterday at 5 PM, I posted a listing on Craigslist to try and sell the day bed that we had in the nursery. I thought if I could get $50 for it, I’d be very happy with that. This morning when I checked my email, I had been contacted by a guy and his wife in Goose Creek. They were interested in the bed and had a few questions. I replied, but didn’t get my hopes up.

About two hours later, I received another email from the same guy. “Consider it sold.” Less than 24 hours from when I posted it!

The best part is that when I was listing it, I had put “$75 obo” in the price. Before I posted it, I let my mom read it. She said, “Why don’t you list it for $100. The bed’s in great condition! And that way, you have a little more room for negotiating.” I let her talk me into it, though I was pretty skeptical. Apparently the guy who bought it was not into negotiating. So I made twice what I had hoped to get out of that bed! Score!! AND, as he was loading it up, he kept commenting on how nice the bed was and how great the condition of it was. Happy seller. Happy customer! 🙂

Now I just need to get the dresser posted on there and get that sucker moved out of here!

3 responses to “A Craigslist Success Story

  1. Erynn and I made a good chunk of change (like over $300) when we moved into our new house by listing old stuff on Craigslist. All the money, or more, of a yard sale, without the hassle.

  2. so good!! what a gift!

Leave a Reply

