IT’S A GIRL!!!!!

We had our ultrasound this morning at 9 AM. Sitting in the waiting room, we had this conversation:

Kyle “What do you think it’s going to be.”
Rita: “I honestly have no idea. What do you think?”
Kyle: “It’s probably a girl. (10-second pause) … or a boy.”
Rita: “Way to cover all your bases!”

Really, going into this, I think we both just “knew” it was going to be a boy. Kyle’s family doesn’t have girls, it seems. In the Polk line, I believe the “Family Historian” (John – Kyle’s brother) told us that there hasn’t been a girl born in 90 years. And she was the 10th child in her family! So it just seemed like we’d definitely have a boy.

And we’d be happy either way … but really, I wanted a girl. 🙂

So when the ultrasound tech finished doing some of her measurements, she said, “You guys want to find out what it is, right?” Two emphatic affirmations from us and she said, “Good. I’ve got it right here. You’re having a girl!”

Kyle and I were so surprised — and kept saying how surprised we were — til the point she said, “You guys have got me second-guessing myself. I’m going to go back and check.” She tried, but little Iva was being modest and stubborn (she is her mother’s child). She was covered up and refused to move.

The tech couldn’t finish all of her measurements, because the baby refused to move so she could get the other side. I guess she was comfortable! So that means we’ll have another ultrasound in a few weeks, most likely. And we’ll get another look at her!

In summation: IT’S A GIRL!!!! I’m still in shock! And welcome, Ivalee Grace!!

6 responses to “IT’S A GIRL!!!!!

  1. Aww, that’s AMAZING!!! Congrats. So excited for you guys=)

  2. I’m so happy to get to look forward specifically to meeting Ivalee Grace. 😀

  3. I really am very happy for you guys, and very excited to meet Iva!! YayyyY!

  4. Huzzah!! I’m really excited for you guys. Iva is going to be the coolest girl ever.

  5. How exciting!! The Polk boy-run is over. I love the girl name by the way. Congrats!

  6. Rita, that’s AMAZING! Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

